Ariel in the Real World

ariel-the-little-mermaid-33081334-1920-1200

Look at my job

Isn’t it neat?

Wouldn’t you think my career is complete?

Wouldn’t you think I’m the girl

The girl who has everything?

Look at my houses

Treasures untold

How many rent checks can one account hold?

Looking around here you’d think

Sure, she’s got everything

I’ve got IRAs and pensions a-plenty

I’ve got stress free commuting galore

You want sick days?

I’ve got twenty!

But who cares?

No big deal

I want more

I wanna feel excited again

I wanna feel, wanna feel real happy

Walking around wearing that, what do you call it?

Oh, smile!

Sittin’ at a desk, you don’t get too far

Standing is required for jumping, dancing

Free from the feeling of, what’s that word again?

Exile!

Out where they walk, out where they run

Out where they stay all day in the sun

Wanderin’ free, wish I could be

Part of that world

What would I give if I could live out of job safety?

What would I pay to spend my days being active?

Bet’cha I’d feel, feel more at ease

Bet you I’d get so much more accomplished

Bright young woman, sick of dreamin’

Ready to stand

And ready to know what the country holds

Research my questions and get some answers

What are food sensitivies and how can I, what’s the word?

Learn!

When’s it my turn?

Wouldn’t I love, love to explore the passions I have?

Out from my desk

Wish I could be

Part of that world

 

 

Leave a Reply

