Running to Brainstorm

brainstorm

I have a love-hate relationship with my weekly long runs.  Every Saturday morning when I hear the harp alarm on my phone, I groan at the thought of getting out of bed and running 8+ miles.  After I hit snooze a few times and force myself out of my cozy blankets, I continue to question my decision: my legs are still sore from yesterday, I feel extra tired this morning, I think I feel a headache coming on.  However, I know that after I complete the run, I will feel a sense of accomplishment for the rest of the day, so I fight all my negative thoughts and put on my running gear and, in today’s case, head down to my basement treadmill.

Today’s long run went by faster than any long run I can remember to date.  I felt relaxed and it allowed me to brainstorm and let my mind ponder different writing ideas.  (As a side note, I recently have been pursuing writing as a potential part time career in the near future.  Most of my free time these past few weeks has been devoted to researching what is involved with breaking into the freelance writing business.  Now that I have a basic foundation of the writing industry, I am trying to think of stories that I could pitch to magazines, newspapers, blogs, or online websites.)  Without even really trying, I came up with 3 new stories I could potentially write about and how and where to go about pitching them.  Because I wasn’t forcing myself to think about writing ideas, it came more naturally.  I’m almost tempted to do a long run every day if it’s that successful of a brainstorming technique; key word: almost.  My only goal for next week is that it is slightly easier to get out of bed on Saturday knowing that I may be able to generate some captivating writing plans.

 

Leave a Reply

