Summer Running

I just ran my second 10-miler this morning.  I skipped last week’s long run because I was exhausted from removing the plaster from my parlor ceiling the day before.  The morning run I completed the day I was going to remove the plaster was probably one of the hardest so far.  I was anxious about the ceiling – how long would it take and how difficult would it be?  Although I was able to accomplish my goal of a 45 minute moderate tempo run, the entire run was painful; worse than some of the runs I completed when I had sore legs.  It is amazing how the mind can affect the body.  (Whoa, getting a little too deep here.)

Since the contractor who I hired to complete my kitchen renovation is set to come any day now, I’m glad I was able to get in a good long run this week.  With all the stress of a renovation, I’m not sure how strong my running will be while it is in progress.  I seem to have adapted to running in the warmer weather, but I think adapting to running under stress will be more challenging.  I am always up for a challenge, so this kitchen renovation will be a good test of that.

Leave a Reply

