The 10 Mile Mark

I finally completed my goal distance of 10 miles!  I honestly never thought I would make this goal when I first started running back in February.  The first run I completed of an 8 week beginners program involved a 30 minute workout with only 10 minutes of running (1 min of running followed by 2 min of walking) and it killed me.  My legs felt like rubber and I was panting for a while after the workout ended.  Frankly, I felt like a out-of-shape loser for having such a difficult time with a workout that on paper looked relatively easy.  From that day on, I was determined to get in better shape and feel better about myself.  It is amazing to me that just over 4 months ago it seemed near impossible to run just 10 minutes and yesterday I ran 10 miles straight.  Patience is not one of my strengths and I tend to get frustrated when I am not good at something right away and may not pursue it, figuring I’m just not cut out for it.  I am so glad that I did not give up on running.  It has given me a sense of accomplishment and a drive to continue to improve.

I never thought I would say this, but I think I may like spending my free time on improving my fitness than on trying out new recipes and baking – wait, who said that?  Don’t get me wrong, I still love to bake, but I think I am now more focused on trying out healthier recipes.  As I said in a previous post, I am sensitive to many foods including dairy and any foods that are very sugary or fatty.  Running now provides even more incentive for me to seek out alternative ingredients and experiment with them until I find the right balance of healthy and yummy 🙂

This was a milestone week for me I hope this achievement improves my patience when learning new skills in the future.  I’m sure Nana Nee will tell me if I have improved or not as she tells everything like it is and knows that patience is one of my greatest weaknesses.

Leave a Reply

