Running vs. Renovating

This week I realized how important it is for runners to have a strong core.  I have been neglecting my core strengthening exercises for the past few weeks and it finally caught up with me this week during my tempo mile run on Wednesday.  I ran a mile three times with walk breaks in between at a pace slightly faster than my steady pace.  I think I overdid how fast I ran each mile and pulled my back somehow.  I did my usual weight training on Thursday and did a steady tempo run on Friday thinking one day was enough rest…WRONG.  One of these days I will learn to take the appropriate amount of rest days.  Needless to say, I didn’t complete my long run, or any run for that matter, on Saturday.

But, like a true dummy, instead of running, I thought it might be a good idea to demolish a wall and remove plaster an lath.  (Yah, that will help heal my back).  I don’t know how it happened, but my back actually did feel better by the end of the day.  I suppose miracles happen when making serious progress on a kitchen renovation, because I have no other explanation.

I also went for my first walk around my neighborhood this season and got some curb appeal and landscaping ideas.  It was nice to get outside and not worry about my pace or distance (although my walking app kept reminding me I was behind the goal pace of 9 seconds/mile – guess it was set to Bionic Woman speed by mistake).  The only drawback about walking outside this time of year are those pesky green worms that hang from the trees.  I thought I was pretty slick dodging them as I walked, but I had to flick at least 10 of them off of me when I got home, eewww.

All in all, this was still a good week, despite my back complications.  I know I will continue to make mistakes as I try to improve my running abilities, but I intend to learn from them.  So, from now on, I will make it a habit to do at least 10 minutes of core strengthening exercises a few times a week.  I will also make it a habit to avoid walking under trees when hanging worms are lurking.  As for skipping any home renovation work that involves heavy lifting, etc. when I am not at my best, we’ll see.

Leave a Reply

