Making it Work

Woohoo, made it my furthest distance of 7 miles today at about a 9:22/mile pace.  I didn’t think it was going to happen this morning…

I woke up feeling kind of lousy and had to fight that part of me that wanted to just skip the long run and call it a week.  But, I knew that if I skipped the run I would just feel even worse and regret it throughout the whole day.  I am so glad I pushed myself to get on the treadmill and can’t wait to try to make it 8 miles next week.
For some reason the letter “F” played a big role in my exercise routine this week.  The first F is for the fan that I bought.  I had a fan before, but it was so low it only blew on my legs, which wasn’t much help.  The power of a fan that blows on your face while running is priceless.
The next F is for my stupid foot!  This past week a sensitive area at the top of my foot that I first got when I played soccer in elementary school came back for a visit.  I say visit because I refuse to believe that it might get worse and cause setbacks with my running.  So far, I taped my first two toes together for added support, which is what I did for soccer.  Hopefully that will do the trick, because I don’t plan on slowing down any time soon.
The last F is for food.  For the past few weeks, I have been having stomach issues and I think I narrowed it down to seeds and popcorn.  Add that to the list of foods that I can’t eat (tomatoes, oranges, fried food and dairy).  Grrr..it’s getting frustrating that so many foods bother me, but I guess I just have to deal with it and stop complaining.  But, since I’m already complaining…realizing that I need to cut flax seeds out of my diet is a huge bummer, since I have been mixing them into different baked goods in place of some of the flour for added vitamins, etc.  Oh well, I guess I’ll just have to keep experimenting with ingredients to see what works and what doesn’t.
Leave a Reply

