Knowing Limits

This week I realized that there is a difference between challenging your body and pushing yourself past your physical limits.  Since I started running, I have used an incline of 4 on my treadmill.  Although that was manageable when I was starting out and running at a slower pace, now that I am increasing my speed to under 10:00, the incline is wearing me out.  I couldn’t stand lowering the incline because it would mean admitting weakness.  However, after I almost got sick from exertion after one tough run at that incline, I gave in and allowed myself to decrease the incline to 3 the next day.  I felt a little discouraged, interpreting it as a step backwards in my fitness progression, but I knew it was the right thing to do because I didn’t look or feel like this after I finished my run that morning:

I also faced another setback this week due to an EVIL interval training workout I did on Thursday.  It was 30 minutes of non-stop squats and lunges.  In other words, pure torture.  Even though my entire lower body felt like it was in a vice grip the next morning, I still thought it was a good idea to do my usual tempo run.  (It will work itself out, right?)  Well, during the run I was fine, but once I did my brief cool down walk, I realized that might not have been the best decision, woops.  So, here I am today.  I couldn’t run this morning (actually just walking is a chore 🙂 ), which also means that I didn’t get outside to accomplish my mini goal of the week.  But, I’m not going to let this week bring me down.  Instead, I’m going to use it as a reminder that I need to be more mindful of my current physical abilities.  Plus, as long as my Aunt Debbie thinks I’m a star, life is good, lol.
Leave a Reply

